ICAS Awards history

Daniel and Florence Guggenheim Memorial Lecture Award

1958 T. von Karman

"Some Significant Developments in Aerodynamics since 1946"

1960 J. Ackeret, Switzerland

"The Role of Entropy in the Aero/Space Sciences"

1962 B. K. O. Lundberg, Sweden

"Speed and Safety in Civil Aviation"

1964 M. Roy, France

"Generation and Gradual Evolution of the Scientific Spirit through the Initial Works of T. von Kàrmàn"

1966 M. B. Morgan, United Kingdom

"Some Aspects of Aircraft Evolution"

1968 A. W. Quick, Germany

"Some New Research Results in the Field of Flows with Energy Input"

1970 C. Ferrari, Italy

"Aerodynamic Problems of Re-entry"

1972 G. Y. Nieuwland, The Netherlands

"Choice and Balance - A Research Program in Aerodynamics in Perspective"

1974 A. Kantrowitz, Israel

"Lasers in Space and Aeronautics"

1976 R. Hiscocks, Canada

"The Dynamics of STOL"

1978 R. Smelt, USA

"The Role of Wind Tunnels in Future Aircraft Development"

1980 E. Truckenbrodt, Germany

"How to Improve the Performance of Transport Aircraft by Variation of Wing Aspect Ratio and Twist"

1982 G. B. Merrick, USA

"Space Transportation Systems"

1984 R. T. Jones, USA

"Improving the Efficiency of Smaller Commercial Transport Airplanes"

1986 J. E. Fowcs William, United Kingdom

"The Aerodynamics Potential of Anti-Sound"

Daniel and Florence Guggenheim Memorial Lecture Award (cont.)

1988 W. R. Sears, USA

"The Outlook for Wind Tunnel Testing"

1990 M. Landahl, Sweden

"CFD and Turbulence"

1992 Z. Fenggan, China

"Vortex Control Technology"

1994 D. M. Bushnell, USA

"Viscous Drag Reduction in Aeronautics"

1996 P. Santini, Italy

"Smart Structures in Aerospace Technology"

1998 G. Long, Australia

"Future Directions in Aeronautical Composites"

2000 B. E. Launder, United Kingdom

"CFD for Aerodynamic Turbulent Flows: Progress and Problems"

2002 H.I.H. Saravanamutto, Canada

"Civil Aircraft Propulsion: The last 50 years"

2004 K. Fujii, Japan

"Progress and Future Prospects of CFD in Aerospace - Observations from 30 years research"

2006 G. Schänzer, Germany

"Developments in Flight Guidance and Control"

2008 E. Dowell, USA

"Reduced Order Models in Unsteady Aerodynamic Models, Aeroelasticity and Molecular Dynamics"

2010 M. Laroche, France

"Improving Engine Development through Global Modelling"

2012 B. Schofield, Australia

"Collaboration Challenges in the global Aerospace Market"

2014 S. Chernychev, Russia

"Aeronautical research and technology development in Russia"

2016 S. Kim, Korea

"Structural analysis of airplane structures and aeronautical education"

2018 H. Pereira, Brazil

" Product Development Challenges in the Commercial Airplane Market"

ICAS - von Karman Award for International Cooperation in Aeronautics

1982 TORNADO (United Kingdom, Germany, Italy)

1984 AIRBUS (France, Germany)

1986 BOEING 767 (USA, Italy, Japan)

1988 VORTEX FLOW EXPERIMENT (USA, Sweden, The Netherlands)

1990 CFM ENGINE (USA, France)

1992 CN 235 (Indonesia, Spain)

1994 ETW (France, Germany, The Netherlands, United Kingdom)

1996 V2500 (USA, United Kingdom)

1998 BOMBARDIER GLOBAL EXPRESS (Canada, Germany, France, United Kingdom)

2000 HYPR Programme (Japan, France, USA, United Kingdom)

2002 F/A18 Follow-on Structural Test Program (Canada, Australia)

2004 GARTEUR Programme (Germany, France, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom)

2006 A380 Programme (Germany, France, Spain, UK plus others)

2008 BOEING 787 DREAMLINER Programme (USA, Canada, France, Italy, Japan, Korea, Sweden)

2010 ACARE - Advisory Council for Aeronautics Research in Europe

2012 HiFire – International Collaboration to advance the science and technology of hypersonic flight

2014 nEUROn Programme – International first large stealth platform

2016 Airbus A350 XWB Programme – International programme on realizing the design, manufacturing, first flight and certification of an exceptionally new wide body aircraft

2018 ICAF - International Committee on Aeronautical Fatigue and Structural Integrity

ICAS - Maurice Roy Medal

1988 P. POISSON-QUINTON, France

1990 J. SINGER, Israel

1992 J. SWIHART, USA

1994 A. YOUNG, United Kingdom

1996 J. WEN MEI, China

1998 R. HARRIS, USA

2000 J. ROEDER, Luxemburg

2002 J. BALAZARD, France

2003 P. SANTINI, Italy

2004 B. LASCHKA, Germany

2006 J. GREEN, United Kingdom

2008 C. GRAEBER, USA

2010 W. Kröll, Germany

2012 S. Kobayakawa, Japan

2014 J. Szodruch, Germany

2016 R. Bengelink, USA

2018 C. Champion, France

ICAS - John J. Green Award

2002 P. Sagaut, France

2004 J. Bayandor, Australia

2006 L. Gimeno-Fabra, Germany

2008 H. Helm, Germany

2010 E. Itoh, Japan

2012 E. Andreev, Russia

2014 A. Orifici, Australia

2016 M. Herr, Germany

2018 E. Gowree, UK

ICAS – IFAR Award

2016 W. Leser, USA

2018 R. Yamashita, Japan



International Council of the Aeronautical Sciences

ICAS - John McCarthy Student Award

1990	J. Crepeau, USA	
1992	1 st Stuart Blank, UK	2 nd Frank Melzer, Germany
1994	1 st Richard Miller, USA	2 nd Roxanna Agosta, USA
1996	1 st Peter Holland, USA	2 nd Darren Rhodes, UK
1998	1 st Mayuresh Patil, USA	2 nd Celine Pendaries, France
2000	1 st Alexander Pechloff, Germany	2 nd Takanori Degaki, Japan
2002	1 st Keiichi Ito, Japan	2 nd Boris Nesterenko, Russia
2004	1 st Stefan Görtz & Joakim Möller, Sweden	2 nd Nobuhiro Yokoyama, Japan
2006	1 st Eri Itoh, Japan	2 nd David Anisi, Sweden
2008	1 st Alan Sutherland, South Africa	2 nd Susan Liscouet-Hanke, France
2010	1st Lauren Burns, Australia	2 nd Takuma Hino, Japan
2012	Two first places: Adriana Andrec Lars Ellbrant, S	eva-Mori, Japan Sweden
2014	1 st Marius-Corne Meijer, South Africa	2 nd Elizna Miles, South Africa
2016	1 st Florian Mahiddini, France	2 nd Christian Niermann, Germany
2018	1st Fernando Miro Miro,Belgium	2nd Aline Dahleni Kraemer, Brazil

ICAS - Distinguished Service Award

2008 Y. Aihara, Japan

2012 G. Backström, Sweden

2014 C Bil, Australia and I. Grant, United Kingdom

2016 T. Ueda, Japan

2018 Karl Rein Weston, USA